1. Company Overview

I’LL INC is a Japanese software and IT-solutions provider serving mainly small and mid-sized businesses. Its core products are the Aladdin Office business-management package and the CROSS MALL/CROSS POINT cloud products used for e-commerce, customer/point management, and multichannel operations.

Data freshness matters unusually here. The latest clean official annual base is FY2025, ended July 31, 2025, filed on October 17, 2025. FY2025 audited consolidated revenue was ¥19.295 billion, operating profit ¥4.819 billion, and net income ¥3.488 billion. More recent data is partial, delayed, unaudited, or estimated: the company released FY2026 results on September 7, 2026, but the statutory annual filing has not yet been made. Those FY2026 figures are therefore treated as an unaudited company update, not as a clean audited annual base.

At the supplied market-data date of September 9, 2026, the share price was ¥2,098 and market capitalization was ¥52.45 billion. Net cash is not available in the supplied deterministic dataset because interest-bearing-debt inputs are missing; it must not be assumed to be zero or inferred from cash alone. The balance sheet is clearly equity-funded, but a precise net-cash or net-debt figure cannot be responsibly stated.

The supplied worth-alive model estimates owner earnings of ¥3.888 billion and an owner-earnings yield of 7.41%, as of July 31, 2026. This is a model estimate from a partial snapshot, not an audited company figure.

2. How the Company Makes Money

I’LL sells, customizes, implements, supports, and maintains business software. The system-solutions business is centered on Aladdin Office: industry-specific enterprise-resource, inventory, sales, and back-office systems, often combined with implementation services, hardware, maintenance, network support, and security. The web-solutions business provides cloud products including CROSS MALL, which connects and manages multiple online stores, and CROSS POINT, which integrates customer and loyalty-point data across physical and online channels.

The economic model combines lumpy implementation and license revenue with recurring service and maintenance revenue. In FY2025 audited data, stock-type service and maintenance revenue was ¥8.319 billion, or about 43% of sales. In the FY2026 unaudited results update, recurring revenue rose to ¥9.287 billion, about 44% of sales. This is meaningful: installed workflows, integrations, implementation knowledge, and the operational risk of changing core systems can make customers reluctant to switch.

However, the company reports one accounting segment and does not disclose segment profit, customer retention, net revenue retention, customer concentration, backlog, implementation economics, or churn. The recurring-revenue mix is encouraging, but it does not prove a SaaS-quality moat or demonstrate that recurring revenue is both highly retained and highly profitable.

Capital intensity is low in the conventional sense. FY2025 audited operating cash flow was ¥3.366 billion and reported capital expenditure was ¥450 million. The real capital requirement is skilled engineers, product development, implementation capacity, and continued compatibility with customers’ systems and outside e-commerce platforms. FY2025 audited stock-based compensation expense was ¥13.6 million; it is immaterial relative to earnings but is treated as a real expense and is not added back.

The franchise appears durable enough to earn attractive reported margins, but it should not automatically be called a high-return compounder. That conclusion requires evidence that incremental hiring, AI investment, product development, and expansion into larger customers will earn returns above the cost of capital. The disclosed data does not yet establish that.

3. Why the Stock Fell

The verified near-term catalyst was the September 7, 2026 full-year release and new medium-term plan. FY2026 itself was strong: the company reported revenue of ¥20.890 billion, up 8.3% year over year; operating profit of ¥5.566 billion, up 15.5%; and net income of ¥4.176 billion, up 19.7%. These are unaudited company-reported results.

The problem was the outlook. Management guided FY2027 revenue up 9.1% to ¥22.8 billion but operating profit down 10.2% to ¥5.0 billion and net income down 15.1% to ¥3.546 billion. It simultaneously cut its prior FY2027 operating-profit objective from ¥5.753 billion to ¥5.0 billion. Contemporary market reporting described a sharp decline on September 8 in response to the guidance. The supplied data does not provide a full price series, so the percentage decline cannot be independently quantified here.

The dominant market narrative is not that FY2026 demand collapsed. It is that I’LL has voluntarily exchanged near-term margin and earnings growth for higher spending on wages, office moves, research and development, product enhancement, internal systems, and AI. That distinction matters: a self-funded investment trough can be temporary, while a need to spend simply to stop customers leaving would be evidence of deteriorating economics.

There was also a secondary issue of expectation reset. An external consensus estimate dated September 4, 2026 had FY2027 operating profit at ¥6.2 billion and net income at ¥4.45 billion. Management’s guidance was approximately 19% below that operating-profit expectation and 20% below that net-income expectation. This is an external estimate, not company data, but it explains why a seemingly healthy operating result could still trigger a severe market reaction.

4. What the Market Is Assuming

The market is being asked to distinguish between an intentional two-year investment trough and a permanent decline in margins. The company’s own plan provides the cleanest numerical map of that assumption.

Fiscal year ending JulyRevenueOperating profitOperating marginNet incomeClassification
2025¥19.295bn¥4.819bn25.0%¥3.488bnAudited annual data
2026¥20.890bn¥5.566bn26.6%¥4.176bnUnaudited company update
2027¥22.800bn¥5.000bn21.9%¥3.546bnCompany guidance
2028¥24.900bn¥5.500bn22.1%¥3.844bnCompany medium-term target
2029¥27.000bn¥6.700bn24.8%¥4.677bnCompany medium-term target

One-time and cyclical factors. FY2026 hardware sales declined from ¥3.014 billion to ¥2.324 billion, while management cited semiconductor-related delivery delays. Hardware is only one part of the system offering, and total company revenue still grew 8.3%. This looks like a mix and supply issue rather than evidence that the core franchise has broken. Office relocation costs and accelerated depreciation associated with investment can also be temporary, but management does not disclose their precise amount.

Medium-term headwinds. The FY2027 margin guide is a 470-basis-point decline from the FY2026 reported margin despite 9.1% sales growth. Wage increases are recurring, while R&D, AI, systems renewal, and relocation combine recurring and non-recurring components. The key uncertainty is whether these costs generate better product economics and productivity, rather than merely absorbing the gross-profit growth created by the installed base.

Long-term threat. AI-enabled competitors, cloud-native software, and lower-cost vertical products could reduce implementation intensity, weaken pricing, and make Aladdin Office or the web products easier to substitute. There is no disclosed multi-period customer-retention, renewal, win-rate, pricing, or market-share series that can verify or refute this concern. The evidence gap is material. Revenue growth and recurring revenue growth show current demand, not the future durability of pricing power.

5. Temporary or Structural?

FY2027 earnings decline: not truly structural on current evidence. The damaged mechanism is reported margin, not demonstrated customer demand. Management explicitly attributes the decline to front-loaded spending while forecasting revenue growth. This is realistically reversible within three years if the spending is time-bound and productivity benefits materialize. The burden of proof remains on management because the FY2029 target margin of 24.8% remains below FY2026’s 26.6% reported margin.

AI and product obsolescence: structural but survivable. The damaged mechanism would be pricing, customer retention, and implementation economics. A generic competitor can build a basic cloud workflow or AI interface within two years; I’LL’s defense is not raw software code. It is vertical configuration, customer-specific implementation history, integration with real operating processes, maintenance relationships, and reference-driven selling. Those assets are difficult but not impossible to rebuild in five years. Over ten years, the moat exists only if the installed base keeps renewing and the product evolves faster than customer migration becomes attractive. The company is investing in microservices and AI, but investment intent is not evidence of success.

Skilled-labor inflation: structural but survivable. The damaged mechanism is the spread between billing or subscription revenue and engineers’ compensation. It is reversible within three years only if pricing, automation, and employee productivity offset wage inflation. Management’s planned base-pay increase makes part of the cost permanent. The FY2027 margin guide already acknowledges this. The company’s past margin expansion is favorable evidence, but it does not prove future labor productivity.

Small- and mid-sized customer cyclicality: not truly structural. A downturn in domestic IT spending can defer implementation projects and hardware revenue. This would damage timing and near-term cash conversion, but it need not impair the installed base or the recurring-maintenance stream. Recovery within three years is plausible, subject to no major customer-credit event. The company does not disclose the customer-concentration and churn data needed to quantify this exposure.

Cybersecurity, outage, and integration risk: a tail risk, not present structural damage. A material breach or prolonged outage could damage trust in core systems and cloud products. There is no evidence in the available data of such an event. It should not be priced as an observed impairment, but it remains an asymmetric risk because customers use the products for business-critical processes.

The time-as-a-moat test produces a moderate answer. A well-funded competitor can replicate features quickly, especially AI features. It cannot quickly replicate years of industry-specific implementation knowledge, customers’ operational data and integrations, or an installed base’s switching friction. Yet none of those advantages is permanent without retention and pricing evidence. This is a real franchise, but not an impregnable platform.

6. Is the Market Wrong? By How Much?

The market is not valuing I’LL as a cigar butt. The supplied worth-dead evidence is modest: FY2025 net current asset value was ¥8.734 billion, only 16.65% of market capitalization, and the model-based liquidation estimate was ¥5.896 billion, or 11.24% of market capitalization. The supplied July 31, 2026 book value is ¥13.863 billion and the resulting price-to-book ratio is 3.78x. Asset value offers limited downside support at the current market value.

The worth-alive case is stronger but not obviously mispriced. The supplied model estimate of owner earnings is ¥3.888 billion, equal to a 7.41% yield on the September 9 market capitalization. This is a respectable starting yield for a stable software business, but not a large margin of safety given the explicit FY2027 margin reset, limited disclosure of retention economics, and unproven return on the investment program.

Combined moat-and-mispricing score: 5/10. The underlying franchise scores roughly 6/10: valuable switching friction and recurring revenue, but limited evidence of a widening moat. Mispricing scores roughly 4/10: the current market value is near a reasonable owner-earnings capitalization range rather than clearly below it.

This is a FY2025-audited-base valuation, informed by the FY2026 unaudited update and the FY2027–FY2029 company plan. It uses the supplied FY2026-dated owner-earnings model as the earnings base because a fully auditable FY2026 owner-earnings calculation is not yet available. The valuation capitalizes equity owner earnings directly; therefore, no net-cash or net-debt adjustment is taken. Net cash/debt is unavailable and is not assumed to be zero.

CaseNormalized owner earningsNormalization judgmentRequired equity yieldIntrinsic equity valueValue per shareVs. ¥2,098
Bear¥2.80bnInvestment costs become partly permanent; margins do not recover adequately10.0%¥28.0bn¥1,120-46.6%
Base¥3.888bnNo adjustment to supplied owner-earnings model; no growth assumed in capitalization8.0%¥48.6bn¥1,944-7.3%
Bull¥4.60bnInvestment supports growth and restores much, but not all, of FY2026 economics6.5%¥70.8bn¥2,831+34.9%

The bridge is straightforward: normalized owner earnings divided by the required equity yield equals intrinsic equity value. Per-share values use approximately 25.0 million treasury-adjusted shares from the September 7, 2026 disclosure. The bear, base, and bull earnings figures are my estimates, not company forecasts. The required yields are also judgmental and deliberately embed no valuation-multiple expansion.

The base case indicates that the market is not clearly wrong; it is pricing a meaningful probability that FY2027 investment spending will reduce the durability or distributability of present earnings. The bullish outcome requires more than revenue growth: recurring revenue must remain healthy, pricing must hold, the new investment must create productivity, and operating margin must move toward the company’s FY2029 target. The bearish outcome does not require insolvency; it requires only that a portion of the FY2026 margin proves non-repeatable.

7. Key Facts, Estimates, and Judgments

Decision-critical itemValue or conclusionClassificationAs-of date
Market price and market capitalization¥2,098 per share; ¥52.45bn market capitalizationCurrent market dataSeptember 9, 2026
Latest clean annual financial baseRevenue ¥19.295bn; operating profit ¥4.819bn; net income ¥3.488bnOfficial fact, audited annual dataFY2025 ended July 31, 2025; filed October 17, 2025
More recent operating updateRevenue ¥20.890bn; operating profit ¥5.566bn; net income ¥4.176bnOfficial fact, unaudited company updateFY2026 ended July 31, 2026; released September 7, 2026
FY2027 outlookRevenue ¥22.8bn; operating profit ¥5.0bn; net income ¥3.546bnOfficial fact, company guidanceSeptember 7, 2026
Prior FY2027 operating-profit objectiveReduced from ¥5.753bn to ¥5.0bnOfficial fact, company plan revisionSeptember 7, 2026
Owner earnings and cash conversion¥3.888bn owner earnings; 73.29% free-cash-flow conversion; 7.41% yieldModel estimate; partial snapshotJuly 31, 2026
Net cash / net debtUnavailable; no adjustment made in valuationData limitationSupplied snapshot
Asset-value evidenceNCAV ¥8.734bn; liquidation estimate ¥5.896bn; book value ¥13.863bnNCAV/book value: supplied data; liquidation: model estimateFY2025 / July 31, 2026
FY2027 consensus gapCompany operating-profit guidance was about 19% below the reported ¥6.2bn external consensusExternal estimateConsensus dated September 4, 2026
Intrinsic-value range¥28.0bn–¥70.8bn equity value; ¥1,120–¥2,831 per shareOwn estimateSeptember 9, 2026 valuation date

Strongest falsification checks: FY2027 recurring service and maintenance revenue should continue to grow despite the investment program; a slowdown, rising customer loss, or discounting would challenge the moat. FY2028 operating profit should begin to recover toward the company’s ¥5.5 billion target; failure to show operating leverage despite revenue growth would indicate that cost inflation, not temporary investment, is driving the margin decline. Cash conversion should normalize after the FY2026 investment outflows; sustained weak conversion would weaken the owner-earnings case.

Evidence that would change the thesis: disclosed retention, renewal, win-rate, pricing, and customer-concentration data could materially improve confidence in the moat if strong, or undermine it if weak. Evidence that AI shortens implementation cycles, raises engineer productivity, and protects pricing would support the bull case. Conversely, customer migration to competing cloud tools, persistent margin below the FY2027 plan, or a failure to regain margin by FY2029 would support the bear case.